Jane Savoie’s January Newsletter

And heeerrrre’s January…..

That Winning Feeling!
Newsletter
January, 2007
Hi Everyone!

HAPPY NEW YEAR! I hope 2007 is an amazing year for you. You can make it
awesome simply by DECIDING to do so. Remember, attitude is a choice.
That reminds me of a story that Dr Wayne Dyer, author of Your Erroneous Zones tells. He talks about a 94-year-old, nearly blind woman who was being moved to a nursing home. She had to move because her husband of seventy years had just died. On the day of her move, she waited patiently in the lobby of her previous apartment for someone to assist her. When she finally arrived at the new home, she used her walker to slowly and painfully maneuver into the elevator. As she reached her floor, the elevator doors opened, and she exclaimed, “I love it!” The attendant said, “But you haven’t even seen your room yet.” Her response was, “It doesn’t matter how the furniture is arranged. It is all about how I arrange my mind.”
By the way, now that the holidays are over, here’s a little tip just in case you overindulged and took “celebrating shades of gray” (see previous newsletters) a little too far.
You can lose those holiday pounds without any deprivation, by simply cutting a mere 100 calories from your daily diet. That’s 1/2 a cookie, half a small bag of chips, a tablespoon of mayonnaise. I bet you never miss it, and you’ll lose 1 pound in a month. I know that doesn’t sound like much, but it adds up to 12 lbs a year! Just think what cutting out 200 calories could do!…or stick with only cutting out 100 calories and increase your exercise just a bit. Those tiny adjustments add up to 24 lbs in a year! Here’s to looking good and feeling even better in 2007!!
Live Your Dreams!
Jane

WIN A MENTORING SESSION!
Win a free mentoring session! ($250 value). Send an essay of up to 500 words describing a special relationship you’ve had with a horse, or a lesson you’ve learned from that relationship, or a unique connection that you’ve had with one of your equine partners. A panel of judges will select the best story, and the winner will be announced in the March newsletter. Email your story to me at jsavoie@mindspring.com
You can use the mentoring session any way you like. Send in a short video, and I’ll help you with some of your training issues. Or we can discuss some of your own mental monsters, and I’ll teach you coping techniques. Or we can do a little bit of both. The session will be a one hour phone consultation.

MENTAL TRAINING

Congratulations to “Team Crak-r-jac” who shows that mental training definitely pays off!

Dear Jane,
I had my first horse show and wanted to share with you how the few techniques I’ve learned from you helped.

I had two 4th places and a 5th place on my half-Arabian gelding in Western Pleasure. Two of the three classes had 9 horses so I felt good about my placings.

What I learned:

1) The subconcious is very specific. I was practicing all my affirmations and visualizations “in the ring”. My horse has a few seasons of show experience, but is new to my trainer, and I’m a complete neophyte (I’ve watched my daughter for 10 years, but never ridden.) So all of us were edgy (and oh yeah, the Houston area had its first cold front; a 50 degree weather drop in one day.) Consequently, before going into the class the horse acted nervous and spooky, which rattled me. Well, I hadn’t practiced affirmations for that eventuality! Once in the ring, both he and I were calmer and he was responsive to me in spite of my tension. After the first two classes, I started broadening my mental work to include schooling and behaviors outside the ring.

2) The pattern interrupt technique is a real help. Even though I had a lot of body tension (and inexperience) in the ring, I was pleased to note that I avoided the sweaty palms, butterflies in the stomach and so forth that I’d have had if I hadn’t practiced. Right before I went in the first time, although I was pretty rattled by my calm gelding turning spooky, I was aware only of a slightly pounding heart. I used to get a much more severe anxiety reaction sitting in the stands watching my kid ride through the gate!

3) I am learning to fine tune. I had a terrific schooling session the day between my first classes and my championship, so every time I began to get nervous about the championship, I’d interrupt myself and concentrate on recreating those sweet moments in the practice pen when Crak-r-jac and I were working so well. I went into the championship much calmer, feeling more in control, noticing more of what was going on around me, and we had none of the spookiness problems before the class either. The horse sensed I had more confidence and reacted accordingly.

I am so very impressed with these techniques. I can only imagine what this first show would’ve been like if I hadn’t had the mental techniques. I’m learning how to use them better just as I’m learning how to ride better and each reinforces the other.

EQUIFIT TIP

And to help keep you on track with your fitness goals, here’s your very own personal trainer, Linda Freeman!

Well, how did you do over the holidays? Please DON’T make a New Year’s Resolution to (a) lose weight or (b) go on a diet or (c) get “in shape” in x number of weeks. Please DO, imagine yourself at your goal weight and fitness level and go about living each day that way. In other words, if you have a few pounds to lose, imagine yourself as you would like to be and imagine how you would be eating healthfully and exercising regularly if you were at that stage of your life. Then, live, eat, sleep, and workout that way! Sounds simple, and, if fact, it is.

Let’s get rid of the “lose weight” notion and replace it with “change my body composition” to less stored energy (stored as excess body fat) and more lean muscle mass.

Then, let’s get to work on buiding more lean muscle mass. We will begin with the largest muscles in your body – your glutes (gluteus maximus and gluteus minimus).

SQUATS – Before you say, oh, no, I can’t do these because they “hurt my knees”, hear me out. The large muscles of the legs (and, in fact, all muscles) are attached to the bones by tendons. If the exercise – in this case a squat – is done correctly, your joints will not be affected and the muscles will be stressed and, therefore, strengthened. Additionally, the larger the muscle, the more quickly it will respond to strength training. You should see a difference in only weeks. Conversely, the largest muscles lose strength and fitness quickly when neglected. So, here we go.

How to perform a squat: Stand with your feet hip’s width apart and toes pointed straight forward. Be sure your weight is equally placed on your entire foot. Begin with your knees relaxed, your navel drawn to the spine, and your body erect. Sit back bending your knees over your feet. As you sit back on your heels, reach forward with your arms. Lean forward only enough to compensate for your “sitting back” movement. In other words, don’t dive forward and down but rather BALANCE forward. (A good way to do this is to place a chair or bench behind you so that you “aim” to sit on the chair but stop just short of doing so. If you should lose your balance, all you’ll do is sit on the chair!) Next, and very important, check to see if your knees have angled too far over the toes. Your shins should be perpendicular with the front of your feet –not past them. This will result in your glutes taking on more of the work and your knees taking less of the strain. Can you feel the difference?

Here’s how to incorporate squats into your workouts: Always warm up before performing a series of squats. Doing them after you walk would be a perfect time. Perform 4 squats at first and gradually work up to 10-12. Be sure to do each squat “perfectly” and slowly. I recommend varying your plans by taking 4 slow counts down and 4 slow counts up for a few reps. Then vary to 2 down and 6 up, or 3 down and 5 up, or 6 down and 2 up, etc. (Caution: Don’t let your hips sink below your knee level and don’t lock your knees at the “top” of the movement. Time spent standing upright between squats is basically useless. Keep the movement flowing.) Perform your squat exercise 3x per week.

Be well, keep up the good work, and enjoy your own special time training yourself!
Your trainer, Linda Freeman

LAW OF ATTRACTION

Don’t forget to sign up for the January 3rd teleconference call with Law of Attraction expert and creator of the Wealth Beyond Reason program, Bob Doyle. Details of the call can be found at the following link:
http://www.wealthbeyondreason.com/askbob.html?a_aid=Jsavoie

YOU’RE IN CHARGE OF YOUR EMOTIONS

I learned from Peak Performance expert, Tony Robbins that we don’t ‘get’ emotions. We ‘do’ emotions. (I know you know Tony…He’s the big guy with the black hair and the BIG teeth that does a lot of infomercials on Personal Power)

Refuse to be a victim! You don’t “get” depressed, discouraged, or angry. You “do” depression, discouragement, or anger. You “do” these emotions with a very specific physiology. For example, think of the body language of someone who is depressed. He slouches with shoulders down and chest closed. His eyes are down, and his facial muscles are slack. If he was to speak, his voice would probably be soft and slow. If you mimic the physiology of depression, before you know it, you’re going to feel sad.

If you don’t like feeling depressed, “do” something else. Action precedes emotion. If you want to be excited instead of depressed, change your body language. “Do” excitement. Throw your shoulders back, smile, fling your arms in the air, dance around ecstatically, sing one of your favorite songs at the top of your lungs, and laugh hysterically at how silly you look. Before you know it, you’ll be feeling great!

MORE FITNESS TIPS!

Here’s some great feedback from reader Josephine Jurcevic!

Thank you for the core excercise and for bringing to light the importance of strenghtening it.
I am not a professional by any means, but over the years I have learned techniques which have helped me improve my health and riding, and would like to share this one with you.

A few years ago I had injured my lower back and was told I should find a physical therapsist. Instead, I had found a professional dancer who incorporates pilates, yoga, tai chi, ballet, and dance into our sessions together. I knew my body, mental well being, and riding would all benefit from her methods so I opted her over a traditional physical therapist.

Although not a rider, she has an understanding of the body and how to develop and strengthen the core which is essential for physical well being for us all. After taking her class for a few months, I realized my lower back pain was almost non existent. Today, I rarely ever have any pain.

By taking her classes, my riding had also improved. Through our discussions, we have both come to find the many similiarites between riding and dancing. And many of our sessions are geared toward strengthening my core and learning how to grow up and strong, but yet stay “grounded” and relaxed. Many of the techniques and stretches she has taught me are low impact and can be done without any expensive equipment. And I think one of the biggest misconceptions is you need high impact excercises, expensive equipment and a membership to the fitness club to see results. But I beg to differ.

One of the techniques she had taught me is taken from pilates. It is geared to strengthen your core and become aware of your breathing (another vital element to a good life and good riding). Lie on your back with knees bent hip width apart. Shoulders are down and relaxed along with the rest of your body. Place your hands on your core or belly button. This is the area you want to concentrate on. Breath in through your noise slowly being aware of your breath. While breathing in do not raise your shoulders. Keep them relaxed. And as you breath in your stomach will expand out. Now slowly breath out through your mouth bringing your stomach muscles closer to the floor. Imagine someone has tied a string to your belly button and is pulling it through your back and down to the floor. Make sure not to tense your body, especially your buttocks. Repeat as many times as you would like, but make sure to incorporate it into your daily routine. If done right, your breathing will improve and your core will become stronger.

A BIT OF INSPIRATION

My long time student, Cindy Strate, sent in this awesome story that I’d like to share with you. It’s called “$20”.
A well-known speaker started off his seminar by holding up a $20 bill.
In the room of 200, he asked, “Who would like this $20 bill?”

Hands started going up.

He said, “I am going to give this $20 to one of you but first, let me do this.
He proceeded to crumple up the $20 dollar bill. He then asked, “Who still wants it?”

Still the hands were up in the air.

Well, he replied, “What if I do this?” And he dropped it on the ground and started to grind it into the floor with his shoe. He then picked it up, now crumpled and dirty. “Now, who still wants it?”

Still the hands went into the air.

“My friends, we have all learned a very valuable lesson. No matter what I did to the money, you still wanted it because it did not decrease in value. It was still worth $20. Many times in our lives, we are dropped, crumpled, and ground into the dirt by the decisions we make and the circumstances that come our way. We feel as though we are worthless. But no matter what has happened or what will happen, you will never lose your value. Dirty or clean, crumpled or finely creased, you are still priceless to those who love you. The worth of our lives comes not in what we do or who we know, but by who we are. You are special. Don’t ever forget it.” Count your blessings, not your problems.

And remember: Amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.

If God brings you to it, He will bring you through it.”

I hope you enjoy this month’s newsletter. If you know someone whom you think would also enjoy it, please forward it on-thanks! You are welcome to forward or use any portion of this newsletter as long as you include my web address which is http://www.janesavoie.com. If someone has forwarded this to you–enjoy! To sign up for your own subscription, go to http://www.janesavoie.com and hit the newsletter tab. Your address will never be shared or sold. I’d love to hear from you. Send any comments, training tips, fitness tips, stories, and triumphs to me at jsavoie@mindspring.com

This entry was posted in Dressage, Emotional freedom Technique, Equifit Tips, Mental Training, Motivational Tips, Sports Psychology, The Fear Factor, The Law of Attraction. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jane Savoie’s January Newsletter

  1. Pingback: Anonymous

Leave a Reply

