Keep Your Attitude Intact by Asking a Better Question.

As I’ve said many times in my newsletters, if you ask a lousy question, all you can get is a lousy answer, so keep your head on straight by learning how to ask high quality questions.
I had to put this concept to the test this past weekend. I was very excited for Moshi to have his debut at Prix St Georges here in Florida. By Thursday, Moshi had had his shampoo and beauty treatment, the trailer was packed, and I had my show clothes laid out.
Early Friday morning, I received a phone call telling me that Moshi’s right eye was the size of golf ball. I called the vet immediately. She stained his eye and found an ulcer on the cornea. I’ve been treating his eye now for the last four days, and I’m happy to report that it has healed, and he’s doing well.
On Friday, however, my first reaction was to ask some lousy questions like “What if this gets infected and affects his sight?”, “Why is it such a struggle to medicate him?” and “How am I going to be able to find someone to help me hold him so I can treat him four times a day?”, and “Just how much can you impose on your friends for help at all hours of the day and night?”
I had to give myself a huge half halt because those kinds of questions sent me down the wrong road emotionally. So I asked some better questions. I asked, “How can I use this to my advantage?” The answer was “Now I have a bit of extra time, and I can catch up on those projects piling up on my desk. I also asked “What’s good about this?” One answer was, “I have a super vet who came quickly, and diagnosed and treated him expertly.” Another answer was that I had been working Moshi hard to prepare for the show, and it was good for his muscles to have some down time. But the best answer was, “ His injury is not serious, and there will always be another show.”
So, when “manure happens”, keep your attitude intact by always asking good questions.

This entry was posted in Mental Training, Motivational Tips, Sports Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

