Excerpt from A Winning Attitude

I thought you might enjoy reading one of the tips from my new book, A Winning Attitude.

“Do every job, no matter how small, with the care and high standards that would make you proud to sign your name to your work.” Benjamin Elkind

This philosophy was my dad’s, and I’m so grateful to have learned this lesson from him. I remember the day he said it. He was helping me muck out my horse’s stall with the usual tools–pitchfork and wheelbarrow. I thought we had finished and that the stall looked fine. Then, to my surprise, he put on a pair of gloves and hand-picked every single stray “poop”. By the time he was done, the stall was a work of art.

So, set a higher standard. Be proud to claim your results in anything and everything, from placing in an athletic event, mowing the lawn, organizing your sock drawer, washing your car, or doing a school or business project.

“The secret of joy in work is contained in one word – excellence. To know how to do something well is to enjoy it.” Pearl Buck

This entry was posted in Motivational Tips, Sports Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

