December 2006 Newsletter

In an effort to give those of you who have just recently signed up for my newsletter a chance to read some of the archived newsletters, I’m posting them here on my blog. Here’s December, 2006. Sign up at at http://www.janesavoie.com to have next month’s news sent directly to you. Your address will never be shared or sold.

That Winning Feeling!
Newsletter
December 2006
Happy Holidays!
Hope you’re all enjoying this hectic season. I know it can be a stressful time so here’s a little tip to help you relax and enjoy. BREATHE!
Inhale for a slow count of five and exhale for a slow count of five. Put your hand on your stomach and feel your stomach expand as you inhale. (It feels like you’re getting “fat” because you’re lowering your diaphragm.)
As you inhale, breathe in positive thoughts and images. As you exhale, expel all the negative garbage from your mind and body. Here are some examples to get you started.
Inhale love for your family and your animals. Exhale feeling overwhelmed.
Inhale a bunch of plus signs (+ + + +). Exhale a string of minus signs
(- – – -).
Inhale gratitude. Exhale worry.
Inhale abundance thoughts. Exhale scarcity thoughts.
Inhale joy. Exhale fear.
Inhale peace. Exhale anger.
Get the picture?

In the exciting news department, my fifth book, A Winning Attitude will be available this spring. It’s a little book that’s handy enough to carry in your purse, keep in the car, or leave on the back of the toilet. It’s filled with fifty golden nuggets that will give your attitude a boost whenever you feel it start to slip.
Just in case you missed my thanksgiving turkey recipe, i’ll give it to you here. It works just as well for Christmas dinner.
10-12 lb. Turkey
1 cup melted butter
1 bag stuffing (Pepperidge Farm is good.)
1 cup uncooked popcorn (ORVILLE REDENBACHER’S LOW FAT)
Salt/pepper to taste
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Brush turkey well with melted butter, salt and pepper.
Fill cavity with stuffing and popcorn.
Place in baking pan with the neck end toward the back of the oven.
Listen for the popping sounds. When the turkey’s ass blows the
oven door open and the bird flies across the room, it’s done.

…and you thought I couldn’t cook!

Live Your Dreams!
Jane

JUST A HORSE
This just in from Kim from Texas. She writes: I don’t know where this came from but it says what I feel.
Blessings to all…
Kim

From time to time, people tell me, “lighten up, it’s just a horse,” or, “that’s a lot of money for “just a horse”. They don’t understand the distance traveled, the time spent, or the costs involved for “just a horse.”
Some of my proudest moments have come about with “just a horse.” Many hours have passed and my only company was “just a horse,” but I did not once feel slighted. Some of my saddest moments have been brought about by “just a horse,’ and in those days of darkness, the gentle touch of “just a horse” gave me comfort and reason to overcome the day. If you, too, think it’s “just a horse,” then you will probably understand phrases like “just a friend,” “just a sunrise,” or “just a promise.” “Just a horse” brings into my life the very essence of friendship, trust, and pure unbridled joy. “Just a horse” brings out the compassion and patience that make me a better person. Because of “just a horse” I will rise early, take long walks and look longingly to the future. So for me and folks like me, it’s not “just a horse” but an embodiment of all the hopes and dreams of the future, the fond memories of the past, and the pure joy of the moment. “Just a horse” brings out what’s good in me and diverts my thoughts away from myself and the worries of the day. I hope that someday they can understand that it’s not “just a horse” but the thing that gives me humanity and keeps me from being “just a woman.” So the next time you hear the phrase “just a horse” just smile, because they “just” don’t understand.
Author Unknown

MORE VISUALIZATION TRIUMPHS
Dear Jane,
I just have to share my own experience with mental rehearsal. Now that our daughter’s in college I’ve begun to learn to ride, and want to show our Half-Arabian in Western Pleasure. The only obstacle is, our trainer is 3.5 hours away from our house. Now, you know what it’s like when you have the RIGHT trainer–there’s no way I’m switching.
I am able to get out there about every 3 weeks for 2 or 3 lessons. At first I thought this will take me years. But I had two things going for me: the trainer, who’s an exceptional teacher, was also putting me on excellently trained horses who were schooling me, and I knew that in order to succeed I would have to practice mentally because I couldn’t practice physically.
Last week I went to ride and they asked me if I wanted to “debut” at a small show in a couple of weeks. I just looked at everybody (Trainer, Ass’t Trainer and Trainer’s Wife) and said, I don’t think I’m ready. Then I had my lesson. Jane, it was amazing. I have been making progress all along but this lesson was light years ahead–afterwards, I realized I’m as ready as I need to be! That night, as I drifted in and out of sleep, I could feel my body rehearsing and absorbing my ride that day.
So now I’m practicing the law of attraction and mentally rehearsing my psychological approach to go along with my new physical skills. This is SO much fun, and your newsletters and information have come along at just the right time for me.

Best,
Ange Finn

Dear Jane,
I just wanted to thank you for your encouraging newsletters and lecture I attended. I was up at Dressage at Devon this year for the “dinner” lecture. I love your energy and outlook on life. For the first time I have been visualizing my rides, not just trying to remember the tests, and I can tell you that my rides yesterday went the best ever!! I have a 4 yr. old Old/TB that I bought as an unbroken 2 1/2 year old. He has been a blast, but in the past my nervousness about forgetting the tests was sending him messages of concern. Yesterday, even though the wind and cold gave us a little “extra” energy, I wasn’t nervous at all about the tests. They went wonderfully, and finally I was able to concentrate on our ride being polished. We still have lots of room to improve, but we got a 66.15 on TR 2, from an R judge, our team place 2nd overall in the PVDA Chapter Challenge. We were all very pleased.
Thanks again and have a blessed day.
Jennifer Tingle

FITNESS TIP
Boy, are you guys lucky! My personal trainer, Linda Freeman, from First in Fitness in Vermont has agreed to give us some tips. I couldn’t think of a better person to do this because Linda also used to be a competitive hunter/jumper rider.
Hey, Linda, what great timing! By adding these tips into our days now, we can avoid adding holiday pounds and having to do damage control later.
Here’s what Linda has to say:
Let this year’s holiday gift to yourself be a few hours a week for your own training. How many hours a week to you work with your horse? For just a fraction of the time you spend on him or her and with just a smidgen of the care, you can apply some of what you so freely give to your equine to your own skeletal, muscular, nutritional and emotional health and balance. As a former hunter-jumper rider I am well aware that we carefully strategize every aspect of our equine’s diet, training, rest, shoes, supplements and even massage, acupuncture and chiropractic! We groom, poultice, wrap, knead, anoint, stroke, and love endlessly. Nothing is too good for our “baby” – especially in the weeks prior to competition. So, what about the other part of the equation? Each of us must be equally fit, fresh, and confident when we put that first foot (or hoof) into the ring. In fact, we must also be ready, willing, and able when we put that first foot (or hoof) into the ring prior to a lesson!
So, beginning with this holiday season, let’s assign some time for the smaller member of this team of horse and rider. For the 12 months of 2007 your monthly newsletter will include an EquiFit Tip to add to your weekly training program for you, the rider, the handler, the be-all to your mount. Of course,there are endless resources for fitness and, in fact, for rider-fitness. However, what makes these EquiFit Tips different is that they are coming to you one at a time. Being realistic, I know that it may be difficult for some of you to find 10 minutes a day for your own exercise. So, these exercises will be cumulative – as will the results. If you are already fitness training, simply add this work to your existing program. If you are not, begin at the beginning …
The beginning…Find 10 minutes a day MORE than you already spend on yourself to begin a specific training plan to help increase your well-being. Use your barn calendar, your palm pilot, or your daily diary to highlight a specific period of time 5 days a week to begin working on your endurance. Ten minutes is sooooo do-able! Arrive at the barn 10 minutes ahead of schedule and walk out the lane and back for 10 minutes. Park as far away as possible from the grocery store and walk continuously and briskly around the parking lot for 10 minutes before entering the store. Do you have a 2nd or 3rd floor in your home or business? Run up and down the steps for 10 minutes (without pause) or jog around the indoor arena (when no one else is training) for a continuous 10 minutes. In the beginning the intensity of your 10 minutes of exercise is not important but, as you have probably noticed, the “continuous” factor is.
Now, here’s where the endurance training begins. You have marked off 50 minutes in 5 days to get going. Now, on one day a week – you determine which day you have some time to work on endurance, preferably a day when you can block out some time, perhaps in the morning, on a regular basis – most of my clients choose a Sunday morning – and a day that you can regularly consider your “endurance day”. Now, on the first Endurance day, choose an aerobic activity that you find easy, pleasant, and available. For many of my clients, that activity is walking. For others, making an appointment with themselves at the gym is more practical and they then choose from among the available cardio machines: treadmill, cross-trainer, cycle, etc. For the more adventurous, hiking or jogging can be a choice. But, whatever you choose, do so carefully because each week you will add to the duration of this activity. Here’s the plan.

Week 1: On your endurance day, perform the activity of choice for 20 minutes. Be sure you are training at a moderate and continuous pace.
Week 2: On your endurance day, perform the activity of choice for 30 minutes.
Week 3: Add another 10 minutes so you are now up to 40 minutes.
Week 4: Add another 10 minutes so you are now up to 50 minutes.

And, so it goes. In 3 months time you will be out for a good chunk of time. By the time your winter show season is over you will be ready to switch training to another form and start all over again!
So, there’s your challenge. Do this for yourself and you will notice that your endurance improves and you will not be huffing and puffing as your sprint from the trailer to the ring with that forgotten item, or heaven forbid, huff and puff at the end of your performance when it appears your horse has done all the work and here you are giving notice that it wasn’t as easy as you tried to make it look!
Good luck and do give yourself permission to spend those minutes and eventually hours on yourself!
Happy Holidays. Your trainer, Linda

NEXT TIME YOU THINK YOU CAN’T

Strongest Dad in the World (From Sports Illustrated, By Rick Reilly]

I try to be a good father. Give my kids mulligans. Work nights to pay for their text messaging. Take them to swimsuit shoots. But compared with Dick Hoyt, I stink.
Eighty-five times he’s pushed his disabled son, Rick, 26.2 miles in
marathons. Eight times he’s not only pushed him 26.2 miles in a
wheelchair but also towed him 2.4 miles in a dinghy while swimming and pedaled him 112 miles in a seat on the handlebars–all in the same day. Dick’s also pulled him cross-country skiing, taken him on his back mountain climbing and once hauled him across the U.S. on a bike.
Makes taking your son bowling look a little lame, right? And what has Rick done for his father? Not much–except save his life.
This love story began in Winchester, Mass., 43 years ago, when Rick was strangled by the umbilical cord during birth, leaving him brain-damaged and unable to control his limbs. “He’ll be a vegetable the rest of his life;” Dick says doctors told him and his wife, Judy, when Rick was nine months old. “Put him in an institution.” But the Hoyts weren’t buying it. They noticed the way Rick’s eyes followed them around the room. When Rick was 11 they took him to the engineering department at Tufts University and asked if there was anything to help the boy communicate. “No way,” Dick says he was told. “There’s nothing going on in his brain.”
“Tell him a joke,’” Dick countered. They did. Rick laughed. Turns out a lot was going on in his brain. Rigged up with a computer that allowed him to control the cursor by touching a switch with the side of his head, Rick was finally able to communicate.
First words? “Go Bruins!” And after a high school classmate was
paralyzed in an accident and the school organized a charity run for him, Rick pecked out, “Dad, I want to do that.” Yeah, right. How was Dick, a self-described “porker” who never ran more than a mile at a time, going to push his son five miles? Still, he tried.
“Then it was me who was handicapped,” Dick says. “I was sore for
two weeks.”
That day changed Rick’s life. “Dad,” he typed, “when we were running, it felt like I wasn’t disabled anymore!’”
And that sentence changed Dick’s life. He became obsessed with giving Rick that feeling as often as he could. He got into such hard-belly shape that he and Rick were ready to try the 1979 Boston Marathon. “No way,” Dick was told by a race official. The Hoyts weren’t quite a single runner, and they weren’t quite a wheelchair competitor. For a few years Dick and Rick just joined the massive field and ran anyway. Then, they found a way to get into the race officially: In 1983 they ran another marathon so fast they made the qualifying time for Boston the following year. Then somebody said, “Hey, Dick, why not a triathlon?”
How’s a guy who never learned to swim and hadn’t ridden a bike since he was six going to haul his 110-pound kid through a triathlon?
Still, Dick tried.
Now they’ve done 212 triathlons, including four grueling 15-hour
Ironmans in Hawaii. It must be a buzz kill to be a 25-year-old stud
getting passed by an old guy towing a grown man in a dinghy, don’t you think?
Hey, Dick, why not see how you’d do on your own? “No way,” he says.
Dick does it purely for “the awesome feeling” he gets seeing Rick with a cantaloupe smile as they run, swim and ride together.
This year, at ages 65 and 43, Dick and Rick finished their 24th Boston Marathon, in 5,083rd place out of more than 20,000 starters. Their best time? Two hours, 40 minutes in 1992–only 35 minutes off the world record, which, in case you don’t keep track of these things, happens to be held by a guy who was not pushing another man in a wheelchair at the time.
“No question about it,” Rick types. “My dad is the Father of the
Century.”
And Dick got something else out of all this too. Two years ago he had a mild heart attack during a race. Doctors found that one of his
arteries was 95% clogged. “If you hadn’t been in such great shape,”
one doctor told him, “you probably would’ve died 15 years ago.” So, in a way, Dick and Rick saved each other’s life.
Rick, who has his own apartment (he gets home care) and works in
Boston, and Dick, retired from the military and living in Holland,
Mass., always find ways to be together. They give speeches around the country and compete in some backbreaking race every weekend, including this Father’s Day.
That night, Rick will buy his dad dinner, but the thing he really
wants to give him is a gift he can never buy.
“The thing I’d most like,” Rick types, “is that my dad would sit in
the chair and I would push him once.”

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments which take our breath away” Unknown

I hope you enjoy this month’s newsletter. If you know someone whom you think would also enjoy it, please forward it on-thanks! You are welcome to forward or use any portion of this newsletter as long as you include my web address which is http://www.janesavoie.com. If someone has forwarded this to you–enjoy! To sign up for your own subscription go to http://www.janesavoie.com and hit the newsletter tab. Your address will never be shared or sold. I’d love to hear from you. Send any comments, training tips, fitness tips, stories, and triumphs to me at jsavoie@mindspring.com

This entry was posted in Equifit Tips, Mental Training, Motivational Tips, Sports Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

