April Newsletter

That Winning Feeling!
Newsletter
April 2007

Hi Guys!
Thanks for your patience! I know I’m a bit late with this newsletter, but I’ve been living out of a suitcase this last month. Last week I went to Nebraska for the USDF Adult clinic, this week I was in St Cloud for the Minnesota Winterfest. early Thursday morning. I’m heading out to Calgary, Canada for Dressage University. I’ll be joined there by International star Edward Gal and Olympic judge Cara Whitham. It should be an educational and exciting three days! Then, it’s off to Connecticut for another USDF Adult clinic. Phew!

So here’s what I’ve decide about traveling. The upside: I get to meet people from all over the country (and the world) and share a multitude of thoughts and training tips. All great stuff.

The downside: I was so tired yesterday that when I went to fill my car up with gas, I actually went to the drive-up window at the bank! (By the way, they didn’t have any gas!) If you ever do this, be careful about asking the teller to “Fill ‘er up!” She might think you’re trying to rob the bank!!!!!

Anyhow, since I’m on the run quite a bit, you can keep tabs on what I’m up to by checking out my new blog at https://janesavoie.wordpress.com

Live Your Dreams!
Jane

BEAT THE HEAT
I know it’s hard to believe, but hot weather is right around the corner. To help you beat the heat, I’m offering a special on Cool Medics vests. These handsome vests normally retail for $116, (see Coolmedics.com) but while supplies last, I’m offering them for only $90!! The vests are made with a special fiber that keeps you 20-25 degrees cooler than the outside temperature for at least four hours. I ride, teach, train, and practically live in mine in the summer! Go to http://www.janesavoie.com and click on the products tab to read more.

KEEP YOUR ATTITUDE INTACT BY ASKING BETTER QUESTIONS

As I’ve said many times in my newsletters, if you ask a lousy question, all you can get is a lousy answer, so keep your head on straight by learning how to ask high quality questions.
I had to put this concept to the test this past weekend. I was very excited for Moshi to have his debut at Prix St Georges here in Florida. By Thursday, Moshi had had his shampoo and beauty treatment, the trailer was packed, and I had my show clothes laid out.
Early Friday morning, I received a phone call telling me that Moshi’s right eye was the size of golf ball. I called the vet immediately. She stained his eye and found an ulcer on the cornea. I’ve been treating his eye now for the last four days, and I’m happy to report that it has healed, and he’s doing well.
On Friday, however, my first reaction was to ask some lousy questions like “What if this gets infected and affects his sight?”, “Why is it such a struggle to medicate him?” and “How am I going to be able to find someone to help me hold him so I can treat him four times a day?”, and “Just how much can you impose on your friends for help at all hours of the day and night?”
I had to give myself a huge half halt because those kinds of questions sent me down the wrong road emotionally. So I asked some better questions. I asked, “How can I use this to my advantage?” The answer was “Now I have a bit of extra time, and I can catch up on those projects piling up on my desk. I also asked “What’s good about this?” One answer was, “I have a super vet who came quickly, and diagnosed and treated him expertly.” Another answer was that I had been working Moshi hard to prepare for the show, and it was good for his muscles to have some down time. But the best answer was, “ His injury is not serious, and there will always be another show.”
So, when “manure happens”, keep your attitude intact by always asking good questions.

FOR ALL ANIMAL LOVERS

A reader sent the following to me. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

The Diary of a Dog

8:00am Dog food! My favorite thing!
9:30am A car ride! My favorite thing!
9:40am A walk in the park! My favorite thing!
10:30am Got rubbed and petted! My favorite thing!
12:00pm Lunch! My favorite thing!
1:00pm Played in the yard! My favorite thing!
3:00pm Wagged my tail! My favorite thing!
5:00pm Milk bones! My favorite thing!
7:00pm Got to play ball! My favorite thing!
8:00pm Wow! Watched TV with my family! My favorite thing!
11:00pm Sleeping on the bed! My favorite thing!

The Diary of a Cat

It is day 683 of my captivity: My captors continue to taunt me with
bizarre
dangling objects. They dine lavishly on fresh meat, while the other
inmates and myself are fed hash or some sort of dry nuggets. Although I
make
my contempt for the rations perfectly clear, I nevertheless must eat
something in order to keep up my strength. The only thing that keeps me
going is my dream of escape.. In an attempt to disgust them, I vomit on
the
floor.

Today I decapitated a mouse and dropped its headless body at their feet.
I
had hoped this would strike fear into their hearts, since it clearly
demonstrates what I am capable of. However, they merely made
condescending
comments about what a “good little hunter” I am. The audacity! There was

some sort of assembly of their accomplices tonight. I was placed in
solitary
confinement for the duration of the event. However, I could hear the
noises
and smell the food. I overheard that my confinement was due to the power
of
“allergies.” I must learn what this means, and how to use it to my
advantage.

Today I was almost successful in an attempt to assassinate one of my
tormentors by weaving around his feet as he was walking. I must
try this again tomorrow — but at the top of the stairs.

I am convinced that the other prisoners here are flunkies and snitches.
The
dog receives special privileges. He is regularly released –and seems to
be
more than willing to return. He is obviously retarded!

The bird has got to be an informant. I observe him communicating with
the
guards regularly. I am certain that he reports my every move. The
captors
have arranged protective custody for him in an elevated cell, so he is
safe……. for now.

EQUIFIT TIP

Continuing to utilize tubing (or whatever stretchy straps you may have available – always, of course, checking to see that they will not snap or break on you!) we will address the back this month. Loop the tubing around a support (as you did for your triceps exercises last month), stand at arms’ length grasping the handles with palms facing about shoulder width apart, and slowly draw elbows back past your sides bending the elbows to approximately right-angles in so doing. Again slowly, return arms to forward position. Repeat 12x. Lie face down with your hands under your chin. Leaving the lower 2/3 of the body on floor, lift the upper body including chin, hands, elbows, and chest – hold at the top for a few seconds and lower slowly to starting position. Do 8x. To finish up the back, go to your hands and knees taking care to keep hands under your shoulders and hips directly over your knees. Lift your right leg to hip level to the back in a straight line with your spine while at the same time lifting your left arm to shoulder level to the front, again in a straight line with your spine. Your neck is an extension of your spine and your gaze will be downward without tucking your chin to your chest. You will need to balance in this position for several seconds before returning to your starting position and switching to the other side. I recommend 4 sets total. Now, your back is warmed up, strengthened, and ready for action! Next month look for some work for the opposing muscle groups of the chest. Enjoy the longer days. Your trainer, Linda Freeman.

THE FEAR FACTOR

A seminar participant sent in the following. For more info on the Emotional Freedom Technique, contact Brad Yates at Bradyates.net

Hi Jane,
I attended your seminar last weekend in Annapolis Maryland and enjoyed it very much! I was fascinated by your demonstration of EFT both for fear issues as well as pain issues. My fear issue is rearing. The horse I have now used to rear (like “hi ho Silver” rear) when he became afraid. I didn’t discover this trait until I got him home from the trainer’s. I say used to because I have done a lot of ground work using clicker training and targeting to give us a language that helped us work through this and he hasn’t done it with me on his back for almost 2 years now. However, my fear of him still doing it is very real.

While you were giving your demonstration of EFT, I worked on this fear but because of the snow didn’t have a chance to test it out until today. I also tried doing the technique in the stall with my hand on my horse’s withers because he was so jumpy because of the snow coming off the roof, helping him with his fear of the snow dropping. By the time we were done, he was pretty quiet in the stall. We went into the indoor and he started to become jumpy and so I just hand-walked him around with my hand on his wither, repeating what I had said in his stall. At one point he did rear slightly when a huge chunk of snow slid off but 2 things happened afterward. I realized that I didn’t even react from the ground when he reared and then he was much better afterwards and didn’t really spook much after that. I got on him and normally in this situation, I would have used “iron-jawed determination” not to be afraid but I just got on and got to work. It didn’t dawn on me until later that I wasn’t nervous during all of that. Very cool stuff indeed!

Betsy Novotny

THE BARN STRETCH POSTER

As you probably know, I’m big into using a three-pronged attack to
maintain fitness. Each week, I do two days of strength training, 3-4 days of some sort of cardio work (like walking interspersed with 10-20 second wind sprints…My knees don’t want me to jog steadily for a half hour), and daily stretching.
Stretching has been a particularly important part of my program ever since I injured a groin muscle in the early 1990’s. Since that time, I’ve become convinced that daily stretching has been the key to keeping me in the saddle without further injury.
I’ve just discovered an awesome new product that guides riders through the proper way to stretch so you can maintain flexibility and avoid injury. The Barn Stretch Poster makes stretching fun, easy, and convenient. Check it out at http://www.barnstretch.com

MENTORING CONTEST

I’m excited to print the second place winning entry from last month’s mentoring contest. It’s by Alyette Jacques

DEAR Jane

Over 34 years ago I lost my horse to swans fever. I was devastated. I started looking for another horse. My budget was low but I was eager to replace him in order to continue riding. Every weekend I visited stables, looked in ads and one day I finally found my dream horse.

Going from stable to stable I saw her. I walked to her stale and she put her head on my shoulder like she wanted to hug me. It was love at first sight. I saw other horses but my heart was taken.

My husband told me, “If you want that horse you have to get the money” so I established my credit with the bank and without knowing the exact price for the horse I borrowed $3,000.

During the negotiations, with the owner a Siamese cat jumped on me. “My cat never goes to strangers and he’s sitting on you that a sign you love animals!”

This little interlude hadn’t settled the question of the horse’s price. They were asking $5,000. I pulled the money out of my purse (I had asked the bank to give me the amount borrowed in $100 bills so it seemed like I had a lot of money). I spread the money on the table and told the owner that this was the amount of money I had and if he were interested in selling the horse for that amount, I’d be willing to buy it. Of course he was not but as I was walking to the door to leave he called me back and told me the horse was mine.

I’ve had that horse for over 20 years. Incitata was her name. She was big: 17 hands. I am five feet; I was struggling to get on her back. By herself she started to stretch her front legs to lower herself so I could get on her back easily. I did the most beautiful outings with her, leaving early in the morning with the sunrise shining on the field still covered with dew; it resembled a field of diamonds.

The bound between us was very strong. Entering the stables she would call on me. Thinking gallop she would give it to me. I went fox hunting she could jump five feet high so easily! The only thing I had to do was trust her and hang on to my hat: she did the rest.

She was always there for me when I was going through difficult moments in my life – my divorce the loss of my father and my house. When I was very sad I would saddle her and go for a trail. I was always coming back happier.

The lesson that she taught me was that even if we go through difficult periods in life we have to face them with serenity and gallop toward other dreams, most of all must enjoy all those nice moment that we have in our life.

THE FEAR FACTOR AND A WORTHY CAUSE
I received an email from one of the participants in my Fear Factor seminar.
She’s having great results with some of the tools…and she also wanted to share info on a worthy cause.
Dear Jane,
First I wanted to tell you how I am using some of the things you taught at the CDI clinic on The Fear Factor and how they are working for me! I am really been focusing on how much more important it is to visualize what you WANT to happen with your horse than what you are AFRAID will happen and I think it has been helping my riding with a particular schoolmaster I find a bit reactive and scary, but also a great”teacher”. I also shared the EFT techniques with my college-age daughter.

I am also applying the “Law of Attraction” to my other (related) passion –
the Potomac Valley Dressage Association Ride for Life dressage benefit for breast cancer research that I founded – and that seems to be working as
well. It has been really growing. For info, look on our website, http://www.pvdarideforlife.org.
FINAL THOUGHT

Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble, or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart… Author Unknown

I hope you enjoy this month’s newsletter. If you know someone whom you think would also enjoy it, please forward it on–Thanks! You are welcome to forward or use any portion of this newsletter as long as you include my web address, which is http://www.janesavoie.com. If someone has forwarded this to you–Enjoy!
To sign up for your own subscription, go to http://www.janesavoie.com and hit the newsletter tab. Your address will never be shared or sold. If you have a friend who has signed up for the newsletter at a live event, but is not receiving it, I was unable to read the address. Please have them sign up again on the website.
I’d love to hear from you. Send any comments, training tips, fitness tips, stories, and triumphs to me at jsavoie@mindspring.com

This entry was posted in Dressage, Emotional freedom Technique, Equifit Tips, Mental Training, Motivational Tips, Product Suggestions/review, Sports Psychology, The Fear Factor, The Law of Attraction, Training Problems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

