Jane Savoie’s November Newsletter

News from Jane Savoie
That Winning Feeling!tm

November 2007 http://www.janesavoie.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
in this issue
A Note from Jane
Customize Your Horse’s Training Program
Secrets of a 3 Time Olympic Coach Revealed
Win 2 Free Video Lessons!
How to Find Articles from Past Newsletters
Final Thought
A Note from Jane:

Hi Guys,
I just returned from The Mane Event Expo in BC, Canada. What a blast! It’s so much fun mingling with the stars of other disciplines like Van Hargis and George Morris. Picture the cowboy, the jumper rider, and the dressage rider all exchanging ideas. The cool thing is that although the terminology and clothing may be different, we all speak the same language and have the same goals for our horses.

I loved going to the Expo, but that left me with all of 3 days to finish packing the house and barn for our annual trek to Florida. And even though it’s the end of October, I’ve already filled out entries for two shows in December. The Herpes outbreak and a scratched cornea did a number on our 2007 show season. But Moshi tells me he’s ready to come out with a bang! We might even do a musical freestyle. What kind of music do you think would be good for my awesome Friesian?

Live Your Dreams!
Jane
CUSTOMIZE YOUR HORSE’S TRAINING-Part 1

It’s important to have a training system so that you school your horse in a clear and consistent way. The down side of having only one system is that one approach doesn’t work for all horses. If a particular system isn’t right for your horse, and you try to force him to conform to that method, he can fall by the wayside.

Because I want every horse to develop to his potential, I’ve come up with my system, which I call “Benign Antagonism”. Simply put, if your horse does something you don’t like, very calmly do the opposite. This approach is “benign” because your adjustments are done quietly and without force. It’s “antagonistic” because you simply do exactly the opposite of what your horse would like to do. The cool thing about this method is it works for every horse regardless of style, conformation, breed, or temperament. You custom design your system for each individual.

In the next four newsletter issues, I’ll look at some common questions that you might have so you can see exactly how to use benign antagonism to customize your system.

Those questions are:
1. Should I Use a Light Leg or a Strong Leg?
2. Should I ride my horse “Deep” or “Up”?
3. What’s a good tempo for my horse?
4. What do I do with my horse that doesn’t like to bend to the right?

The Light Leg versus “More Leg” Dilemma
Most of the horses I see in clinics (even the hot ones) are behind the leg. If your horse is dull to your driving aids, you end up riding him from front to back whether you mean to or not.

I’m from the school of thought that says a horse should react promptly and eagerly to subtle leg aids: When you use your leg lightly, your horse should respond immediately and enthusiastically. It’s exhausting and not very pretty to squeeze and grind with your legs every stride. Instead, train your horse to react to feather light aids.

When you’re not giving a leg aid, rest your legs quietly on your horse’s sides. When you choose to give an aid, increase the pressure slightly and momentarily. Never adjust your aid by repeating it or making it stronger to allow for your horse’s dullness. Instead, insist that he become more reactive to a refined aid by putting him in front of your leg.

My Horse is Dull to the Driving Aids
Here’s the process of putting your horse in front of your leg (or any of your driving aids, for that matter!)
· Use a feather light aid, and expect your horse to SURGE forward
· If he doesn’t, chase him forward by tapping him with the whip or bumping him with your legs (or both!).
· RETEST with your light aid. (If you don’t retest, he’ll just get lazier.)
· If his response is “better” but not 100%, chase him forward again.
· RETEST with the light aid.
· When he surges forward from an aid that is as light as a mosquito bite, praise him.

I became a big believer in this system when I had my first FEI schoolmaster, Sacramento. Sacramento was a very sweet but extremely lazy Holsteiner, who stood 17.3 hands and weighed 1,800 pounds. When I was first getting to know him, I would close my legs and get practically no response. So I’d use more leg, and he’d react a bit better. I drew the mistaken conclusion that I just had to have stronger legs. After a few weeks of using “more leg,” Sacramento stopped giving me an answer to that aid, and I had to use even stronger leg aids. It was as if he was laughing at this neophyte on his back saying, “Go ahead–squeeze. That’s right. Now squeeze harder. Pretty soon you’ll be so exhausted that we’ll get to take a break!”

That’s when I decided to approach this training issue from a benignly antagonistic point of view. Sacramento wanted me to use a lot of leg, so I decided to teach him to be “hot off” a light leg as a survival technique for my weary body. This approach was totally effective, even though he was quite set in his ways at age twelve.

My Horse Runs Away From My Leg
On the other hand, I started my dressage career with a hot Thoroughbred off the track. This horse would threaten me with his body language. It’s as if he was saying, “Don’t you dare touch me with your legs. If you do, I’ll rush off really fast.”

So, I took a different approach with him than I did with Sacramento. I wrapped my legs firmly around his barrel all the way from ankle to hip. Essentially, I was saying to him, “These are my legs. Get used to them. They are not going away. But you can see that you don’t have to be afraid of them either. Take comfort in feeling them hugging you. They won’t take you by surprise when I use them.” This approach worked like a charm with my insecure, sensitive Thoroughbred.

Use the theory of Benign Antagonism to help you out of any training problem. Next month I’ll discuss making a decision about whether to ride your horse in a deep frame or in a finished product, competition frame.

For more information, on putting your horse in front of your driving aids, check out Cross-Train Your Horse and Train with Jane-Volume 1 at http://janesavoie.com/shop/index.html

Reprinted in part with permission of Dressage Today. Copyright 1998.
Contact Dressage Today at dtletters@aol.com
Secrets of a 3-Time Olympic Coach Revealed
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How would you like to be able to train with me even if you live thousands of miles away? AND, you can get my help at a fraction of the cost of bringing me to your area for a clinic.

My NEW video training program makes it simple and easy to benefit from my years of experience. This program is for anyone who wants to improve their riding–amateur, professional, beginner, or seasoned competitor. Just send in a 30 minute video of you and your horse in action. I’ll assess where you are, evaluate any problems, and send you a CD with helpful tools and exercises to improve your skills.

Send your dvd’s or VHS tapes to me at:

Jane Savoie
1526 Red Pine Trail
Wellington, FL 33414

To sign up, go to http://janesavoie.com/courses.htm
WIN 2 FREE VIDEO LESSONS WITH JANE SAVOIE!

To kick off my NEW video training program, I’m offering a “Horses as Healers” Essay Contest.

Most of us have been privileged to know a horse that has “saved” us. If you have had a special horse in your life that has healed you emotionally, spiritually, or physically, I’d love to hear about it.

You can enter the contest by writing a 500 word essay describing how that horse has touched your life. Entries are limited to one per person. Please include full name, mailing address, contact phone number and email address with your entry. Email your entry to me at jsavoie@mindspring.com. The deadline for the contest is December 15, 2007.

I can’t wait to hear about YOUR special horse! The Grand Prize winner receives 2 free video lessons redeemable anytime. Second place is your choice of either Volume 1 or 2 of the 4 DVD set Train with Jane. Third prize is The Rider’s Inside Edge 10 CD set.
How to Find Articles from Past Newsletters
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Since I get a lot of emails from people asking me to resend articles from past newsletters, I figured out a way to make it easy for you to find those articles. I’ll post the newsletters on my blog, http://www.janesavoie.wordpress.com so you can find them whenever you need them!
The most recent ones are:
July–Ride from Half Halt to Half Halt
August–12 Essential Things You Must Know to Put Your Horse on the Bit
September–Training Tips For the Spooky Horse
October–7 Tips to Relax in Competition
FINAL THOUGHT
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams. Live the life you have imagined.”
Henry David Thoreau

I hope you enjoy this month’s newsletter. If you know someone whom you think would also enjoy it, please forward it on–Thanks! You are welcome to forward or use any portion of this newsletter as long as you include my web address, which
is http://www.janesavoie.com. If someone has forwarded this to you–Enjoy!
To sign up for your own subscription, go to http://www.janesavoie.com and hit the newsletter tab. Your address will never be shared or sold. IF YOU HAVE A
FRIEND WHO HAS SIGNED UP FOR THE NEWSLETTER AT A LIVE EVENT BUT IS
NOT RECEIVING IT, I WAS UNABLE TO READ THEIR ADDRESS. PLEASE HAVE
THEM SIGN UP AGAIN ON THE WEBSITE.
I’d love to hear from you. Send any comments, training tips, fitness tips, stories, and triumphs to me at jsavoie@mindspring.com
Quick Links…
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Are you sick and tired of complicated and confusing training techniques?
Are you frustrated by negative emotions like fear and lack of confidence?
Would you like to be trained by a Three Time Olympic Coach? Learn how by going to:
My Website
My Products
My Courses
My Schedule
Contact Information
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
jsavoie@mindspring.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This entry was posted in Dressage, Dressage Training, Training Problems. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jane Savoie’s November Newsletter

  1. BriteDay says:

    Interesting idea for a training program. Will keep it in mind.

Leave a Reply

