Jane Savoie’s December Newsletter

News from Jane Savoie
That Winning Feeling!tm

December 2007 http://www.janesavoie.com
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
in this issue
A Note from the Jane
Customize Your Horse’s Training Program-Part 2
New Home Study Course in 2008
Win 2 Free Video Lessons!
Reader Mailbag
Final Thought
Hi Guys!
I want to wish you all a very happy holiday season and health and success in 2008!!! Whether you celebrate Christmas, Chanukah, Kwanzaa, or any other special occasion, I wish you the best and want to tell you what this season means to me.

It’s all about GRATITUDE and LOVE.

Be GRATEFUL for your family, the kindness of strangers, your health, your horse (dog, cat, bird), not having to cook tonight (my personal favorite), daydreams, toilets that flush, music, a nap, bright colors, sunshine, the absence of pain, electricity, old friends, white chocolate, modern appliances, finding a parking space exactly where you need one, a good book, your car, a hot shower, savoring the scents of life (flowers, food, the earth, the barn), your eyesight, a gentle breeze, laughter, restaurants that deliver, your plane landing safely, and breathing!

Also, remember that LOVE is a verb. Show it! Give your time, your attention, and your knowledge. Loving can be something as simple as taking the time to find a phone number for someone, really listening with your whole heart, looking a friend in the eye when he or she talks to you, volunteering your time, money, or skill to a cause you believe in, mentoring a child, offering a foster home for a sick animal, or creating an amazing dinner for a special person.

Give your horse a holiday hot bran mash and an extra pat from me!

Live Your Dreams!
Jane

P.S. As I said last month, this is YOUR newsletter. I want to be sure I’m hitting the topics you’re interested in. If we were sitting down having lunch together, what are the top 2-3 questions you’d like to ask me? What do you need help with? Now, with thousands of subscribers, I can’t promise an individual answer to your questions. But I do promise you this. I will personally read all your questions and try to incorporate the answers into future newsletters.

Email your questions to me right now by going to http://janesavoie.com/contact.htm

CUSTOMIZE YOUR HORSE’S TRAINING-Part 2

In this month’s training tip on “Benign Antagonism” I’m going to answer the question, “Should I ride my horse “Deep” or “Up”? (Remember, benign antagonism simply means that if your horse does something you don’t like, very calmly do the opposite.)

You’ve probably heard lots of discussion about whether or not to work your horse “deep.” There are a variety of opinions on the matter. Some riders warm up and cool down their horses “long and low” to stretch and loosen the muscles. Others always school in a balance and frame appropriate to the level at which they are working; they never stretch their horses. Many trainers school in a deep frame only during the movements when the horse habitually comes above the bit. Still others do all of their work “extremely deep” with the horse’s nose almost on his chest; they bring them up only when they’re getting ready to compete.

So what should you do? Use benign antagonism to help you decide.

Let’s say you’re riding a “dirt sucker.” This horse leans so heavily on the forehand that you feel like you’re somersaulting around the arena. With a horse like this, it’s best to ride him more “up.” That’s because his version of long and low is not a good one. Yes, his head and neck stretch down and out. But my concern is with his hindquarters. If his hind legs are trailing out behind his body, and he’s pushing himself heavily onto his forehand, he’s not in good balance. By shortening the reins and riding him a little more up, you can clear the way for his hind legs to come more underneath his body so he can carry himself better.

On the other hand, you might have a “stargazer,” who goes around so inverted that you can almost look at him eyeball to eyeball. He travels with a low back, and his head and neck are up in the air. To retrain and strengthen his topline muscles, put this horse in the opposite shape from the one he adopts on his own. Send his hind legs further underneath his body so that his back is up and his head and neck are low. Use a “connecting half halt” to change his shape (For more information on “connecting half halts”, see Train with Jane–Volume 2–Connection). Then, after giving the “connecting half halt”, allow the reins to get a bit longer so he can seek the contact forward and down.

NEW HOME STUDY COURSE TO BE RELEASED EARLY 2008

Get ready! It’s been more than a year in the making, but I’m just about ready to release my new home study course. And It’s HUGE!

The reason I decided to put this course together is because no matter where I go, I find one common theme that runs from Training level through Grand Prix. Riders tell me they’re just plain FRUSTRATED.

They’re frustrated because:
· Trainers tell them what to do but don’t tell them HOW to do it.
· No one explains things in a CLEAR, step-by-step, easy to understand training system.
· Training is often a struggle, exhausting, or a tug of war rather than a joyful process that creates a happy, athletic horse.
· They can’t get their horses consistently on the bit.
· They can’t afford to work with a trainer on a regular basis.
· There aren’t any decent trainers in their area.
· They can’t afford a warmblood so they think training will be more difficult with their Quarter horse (Arabian, Haflinger. Friesian, Morgan, Saddlebred, Fjord, Thoroughbred etc)

This course addresses all of those issues and more! Be on the lookout for it just after the New Year.

WIN 2 FREE VIDEO LESSONS !

There’s still time to enter my “Horses as Healers” Essay Contest.

Most of us have been privileged to know a horse that has “saved” us. If you have had a special horse in your life that has healed you emotionally, spiritually, or physically, I’d love to hear about it.

You can enter the contest by writing a 500-word essay describing how that horse has touched your life. Entries are limited to one per person.

DON’T WORRY ABOUT YOUR GRAMMAR OR SPELLING! Your message will come through regardless of whether or not you think you can write.

Please include full name, mailing address, contact phone number and email address with your entry. Email your entry to me at jsavoie@mindspring.com. The deadline for the contest is December 15, 2007.

I can’t wait to hear about YOUR special horse! The Grand Prize winner receives 2 free video lessons redeemable anytime. Second place is your choice of either Volume 1 or 2 of the 4 DVD set Train with Jane. Third prize is The Rider’s Inside Edge 10 CD set. I’ll announce the winners in the January newsletter.

READER MAILBAG

My student, Cindy Strate, sent me this great report on how The Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT) has helped both her and her horse to relax. If you haven’t tried this quick and simple technique to help you deal with your mental monsters, go NOW to http://janesavoie.com/eft.htm to learn more about it.

Dear Jane,
I could hardly wait to get to my computer so I could share my ride today with you. Bummie is coming back from a sore foot, so we have been mostly just walking in the soft footing of my arena. I don’t know if you remember this, but Bum has always been awful at home in the arena. I have been doing EFT since we had our coaching session to “tap” away tension when I ride. I tapped for it today as I was headed down to the barn to mow pastures and then ride. So Mike and I spent a few hours working on fencing and mowing had lunch and then it was time for my ride. I wasn’t thinking about anything but Bum being sound. We headed out and walked around and then started trotting. Bum has one little hissy fit so I went back to the walk to get our rhythm and straightness. I was doing some leg yield keeping her nose “on the ground”, and we just flowed onto the trot. Then we just started doing a big figure of eight. Bum remained straight, supple and obedient!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There were moments when she “looked” for my tension, but when she didn’t find it she just went on!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t believe it. I was so proud of her. It wasn’t quite as relaxing as a Jane Savoie lesson – but I’ll take it:)
Thanks!
Cindy

One of my readers, Ellie from Massachusetts, sent me this. I know you’ve probably seen it before, but I thought it would be fun for you to read it again.

Only horse people…
· Believe in the 11th Commandment: Inside leg to outside rein.
· Know that all topical medications come in either indelible blue or
· neon yellow
· Think nothing of eating a sandwich after mucking out stables.
· Know why a thermometer has a yard of yarn attached to one end of it.
· Are banned from Laundromats.
· Fail to associate whips, chains and leather with sexual deviancy.
· Can magically lower their voices five octaves to bellow at a
pawing horse.
· Have a language all their own (“If he pops his shoulder, I have to close that hand and keep pushing with my seat in case he sucks back”.)
· Will end relationships over their hobby.
· Cluck to their cars to help them up hills.
· Insure their horses for more than their cars.
· Will give you 20 names and reasons for that bump on your horse.
· Know more about their horse’s nutrition than their own.
· Have neatsfoot oil stains on the carpet right next to the TV.
· Have a vocabulary that can make a sailor blush.
· Have less wardrobe than their horse.
· Engage in a hobby that is more work than their day job.
· Know that mucking stalls is better then Zoloft any day.

The happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything.
They just make the best of everything they have.

FINAL THOUGHT
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The only thing that stands between a man and what he wants from life is often merely the will to try it and the faith to believe that it is possible.
– Richard M. DeVos

I hope you enjoy this month’s newsletter. If you know someone whom you think would also enjoy it, please forward it on–Thanks! You are welcome to forward or use any portion of this newsletter as long as you include my web address, which
is http://www.janesavoie.com. If someone has forwarded this to you–Enjoy!
To sign up for your own subscription, go to http://www.janesavoie.com and hit the newsletter tab. Your address will never be shared or sold. IF YOU HAVE A
FRIEND WHO HAS SIGNED UP FOR THE NEWSLETTER AT A LIVE EVENT BUT IS
NOT RECEIVING IT, I WAS UNABLE TO READ THEIR ADDRESS. PLEASE HAVE
THEM SIGN UP AGAIN ON THE WEBSITE.
I’d love to hear from you. Send any comments, training tips, fitness tips, stories, and triumphs to me at jsavoie@mindspring.com

This entry was posted in Dressage, Dressage Training, Motivational Tips, Sports Psychology, Training Problems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jane Savoie’s December Newsletter

  1. photogchic says:

    Jane–wanted to wish you a happy New Year. I turn to your blog for a source of inspiration and positive energy. I look forward to applying your suggestions and I find myself repeating your “mantras” as I ride. You not only aid my dressage “savvy” but also keep me smiling. Thanks for all you do. Best wishes for 2008.

  2. janesavoie says:

    You’re welcome! Happy New Year to you too!!
    Best,
    Jane

Leave a Reply

